According to a statement by The Council of European Union, The criteria to determine the countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted cover in particular the epidemiological situation and containment measures, including physical distancing, as well as economic and social considerations.

Regarding the epidemiological situation, third countries listed should meet several criteria, including the number of new Covid-19 cases, stable or decreasing trend of new cases, as well as the third country’s overall response to Covid-19. Reciprocity would also be taken into account, the EU Council said.

The list was to be reviewed every two weeks and could updated after consultations with the European Commission and the relevant EU agencies and services following an overall assessment based on those criteria above.

There are 11 countries on the “EU Safe to travel countries” list. As of August 11, 2020, these countries are:

1. Australia
2. Canada
3. China
4. Georgia
5. Japan
6. New Zealand
7. Rwanda
8. South Korea
9. Thailand
10. Tunisia
11. Uruguay

The EU’s official list is updated every 2 weeks, so far Thailand has always made it on the list.